Aurealia Awards
Aurealis Awards - Home
Aurealis Awards - About Us
Aurealis Awards - Rules and Conditions
Aurealis Awards - Entry Forms
Aurealis Awards - Entries
Aurealis Awards - finalists_winners
Aurealis Awards - Judges
Aurealis Awards - FAQ
Aurealis Awards - Contact
Aurealia Awards
Aurealis Awards - About us

About Conflux Incorporated

Conflux Incorporated was formed in 2005 to oversee the Conflux Science Fiction Conventions. A total of nine conventions have been run since 2003, with Conflux 10 to be held in October 2013.

Conflux has always has as its mission to support and encourage the development of writers, so taking on the Aurealis Awards seemed a natural fit.

To contact Conflux Incorporated, email:
Nicole Murphy.

The Aurealis Awards were established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, the publishers of Aurealis magazine, to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

The Aurealis Awards are intended to complement the Annual Australian National Science Fiction Convention’s Ditmar Awards and the Australian Children’s Book Council Awards and the various other state-based and national literary awards. None of those awards distinguishes between the different categories of speculative fiction. We hope that the growing list of Aurealis Awards finalists and winners will increase the profile of Australian science fiction, fantasy, and horror, and provide an essential reading list for anyone interested in these genres.

The awards originally comprised four categories: science fiction, fantasy, horror, and young adult. A fifth category for children’s fiction (ages 8-12 years) was added in 2001.
The YA and children's categories cover works in all three speculative fiction genres.

These categories each have two separate awards, one for novels and one for short fiction, except for Children's which originally had separate awards for "told primary through words" and "told primarily through pictures". These were collapsed to a single award for children's fiction in 2013.

Two changes to the awards’ process were introduced in 2008: the best-in-show Golden Aurealis Awards for novel and short fiction (introduced in 2004) were discontinued, and two new categories were introduced: best anthology and collection, and best illustrated work or graphic novel.

Submissions within a category are reviewed by a panel of at least three judges, which selects each year's finalists and winners. One of the judges on each panel is also the panel convenor.

There is also the Convenor's Award for Excellence (formerly the Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Excellence) which is awarded at the discretion of the convenors for a particular achievement in speculative fiction or related areas in that year that cannot otherwise be judged for the Aurealis Awards. It can be for a work of non-fiction, artwork, film, television, electronic or multimedia work, or that which brings credit or attention to the speculative fiction genres. The award was originally known as The Convenors' Award for Excellence and was renamed in 2002 after Peter McNamara (d. 2004), publisher, editor and the original Aurealis Awards convenor, shortly after he was diagnosed with a terminal illness. In 2014, the award guidelines were revised and it was renamed to its original form, to avoid confusion with the Peter McNamara Achievement Award presented annually at the National Science Fiction Convention.

Because this is a special award and the scope of the entries may vary greatly, entries for this award do not feature on the list of general Aurealis Awards 2010 entries.

Aurealis Awards Management Team


Nicole Murphy
Nicole is an author of speculative fiction and contemporary romance, with 8 novels sold or published and dozens of short stories. In her day job, she is a professional conference organiser .

Judging Coordinator:

Tehani Wessley
Tehani was a founding member of Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine and is a former Aurealis Awards judge. She launched her own press, Fablecroft Publishing in 2010. Tehani works as a Teacher Librarian.

Programme Designer:

Cat Sparks
Cat is a writer and multiple Aurealis Award winner, a graduate of Clarion South and former editor of Agog! Press with her partner Rob Hood. Also a graphic designer, photographer and desktop publisher, she is a former judge of the Aurealis Awards.


Kim Gaal
Kim Gaal is a writer and formerly staff member at the ACT Writer's Centre. Her day job is as a publications director and events coordinator. She has been part of the Conflux team for a couple of years working on the handbooks for Conflux events.