Aurealis Awards
Aurealis Awards - Home
Aurealis Awards - About Us
Aurealis Awards - Rules and Conditions
Aurealis Awards - Entry Forms
Aurealis Awards - Entries
Aurealis Awards - finalists_winners
Aurealis Awards - Judges
Aurealis Awards - FAQ
Aurealis Awards - Contact
Aurealia Awards
Aurealis Awards - Nomination Forms

Entries for the 2013 Aurealis Awards are closed.

How do I enter a work into the Aurealis Awards process, and where do I send my entry form?

You must supply a copy of the work(s) entered to each judge in the relevant category/categories by December 31, 2013. Once you have formally submitted an entry via the online form, the coordinator will contact you with the postal addresses for the relevant judges.

What works are eligible?

Any work of speculative fiction written by an Australian citizen of permanent resident and published for the first time between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2013 is eligible to be entered.

Who can enter works?

Anyone can enter a work and there is no entry fee for the Awards, however registrants must agree to send or submit a copy of the entered work to each judge in the category or categories the work is entered in. There are three judges in each category. Details of judges postal addresses will be provided after works are registered.

A list of entries appears on the Aurealis Awards website and is progressively updated during the year. Only formally entered works will be considered for the awards.

Can I submit works electronically?

Yes, for the first time in 2013 all works can be submitted electronically. You will be given instructions on how to do so after you have entered your work.

Entry deadline

Online entries must have been lodged by midnight 7 December 2013. And copies of entered works must be received by the judging panels at the addresses provided no later than 31 December 2013.

For the Peter McNamara Convenors' Award please read information and access an entry form for this award on the Rules and Conditions page.

The Aurealis Awards 2013 are for works of speculative fiction by authors, editors and illustrators, who are Australian citizens or permanent residents, first published in English between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2013.

Finalists will be announced on the website in late February 2014, and the winners announced at a ceremony in Canberra in April 2014.

By entering a work in the Aurealis Awards process, you undertake to supply a copy of the work to each of the judges of the relevant category/categories, i.e. you’ll need to supply three copies of the work in each category entered.

Works may be entered in more than one category, but we encourage you to only choose the most relevant, rather than make across-the-board, blanket entries.

For more details about rules and eligibility, please read the rules and conditions and visit the FAQs.

The Aurealis Awards always aim to be as inclusive as possible. If you are aware of any work that should be entered in the 2013 process but which does not appear on the list of entries please contact the judging coordinator with details so we can encourage the author/publisher to enter it.