Aurealis Awards
Aurealis Awards - Home
Aurealis Awards - About Us
Aurealis Awards - Rules and Conditions
Aurealis Awards - Entry Forms
Aurealis Awards - Entries
Aurealis Awards - finalists_winners
Aurealis Awards - Judges
Aurealis Awards - FAQ
Aurealis Awards - Contact
Aurealia Awards
Aurealis Awards - Winners


Winners of the 2012 Aurealis Awards were announced at a lively and spectacular evening ceremony, Saturday 18 May 2013 at The Independent Theatre in North Sydney.

Author Scott Westerfeld was Master of Ceremonies and the night included a special screening of a short film by well-known artist Nick Stathopoulos and director Ryan Cauchi, "It Grows". 

Read the press release for details and a full list of winners.

Finalists in the 2012 Aurealis Awards were announced in March 2013. Read the press release  announcing the finalists.


Congratulations to the winners of the 2011 Aurealis Awards!

Read the Press release announcing the winners.
Read the Judges' reports.

Winners were announced at a gala ceremony held at North Sydney's Independent Theatre on 12 May 2012. Read the press release with details of the ceremony.

Finalists in the 2011 Aurealis Awards were announced in March 2012. Read the Press release announcing the finalists. 


Congratulations to the winners of the 2010 Aurealis Awards!

Read the Press release announcing the winners.
Read the Judges' reports.

Winners were announced at a gala ceremony held at North Sydney's Independent Theatre on 21 May 2011. Read the press release with details of the ceremony.

Finalists in the 2010 Aurealis Awards were announced in March 2011. Read the Press release announcing the finalists.  

Download the complete list of 2009 award winners: PDF (88kb)

The 2009 winners were announced at the annual Aurealis Awards ceremony at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane on Saturday 24 January 2010.


peter mcnamara convenors' award

Justin Ackroyd, Proprietor, Slow Glass Books

best science fiction novel

Andrew McGahan, Wonders of a Godless World, Allen & Unwin

best science fiction short story

Peter M. Ball, ‘Clockwork, Patchwork and Ravens’, Apex Magazine May 2009

best fantasy novel

Trudi Canavan, Magician's Apprentice, Orbit

best fantasy short story - Joint winners

Christopher Green, ‘Father’s Kill’, Beneath Ceaseless Skies #24

Ian McHugh, 'Once a Month, On a Sunday’, Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #40, Andromeda Spaceways Publishing Co-operative Ltd

best horror novel

Honey Brown, Red Queen, Penguin Australia

best horror short story - Joint winners

Paul Haines, 'Wives', X6, Coeur de Lion Publishing

Paul Haines, 'Slice of Life - A Spot of Liver', Slice of Life, The Mayne Press

best anthology

Jonathan Strahan (editor), Eclipse 3, Night Shade Books

best collection

Greg Egan, Oceanic, Gollancz
Please note: The author declined to accept this award

best illustated book/graphic novel

Nathan Jurevicius, Scarygirl, Allen & Unwin

best young adult novel

Scott Westerfeld, Leviathan Trilogy: Book One, Penguin

best young adult short story

Cat Sparks, ‘Seventeen’, Masques, CSFG

best children’s (8-12 years) novel

Gabrielle Wang, A Ghost in My Suitcase, Puffin Books

best children’s (8-12 years)
short fiction/illustrated work/picture book

Pamela Freeman (author), Kim Gamble (illustrator), Victor's Challenge, Walker Books Australia


Judges Reports

Download a list of Judges' Reports below:
Science Fiction Novel: SFNovel.pdf
Science Fiction Short Story: SFShort.pdf
Fantasy Novel: FantasyNovel.pdf
Fantasy Short Story: FantasyShort.pdf
Horror: Horror.pdf
Anthology/Collection: antho.pdf
Young Adult: ya.pdf
Children's: childrens.pdf

Download a complete history of Aurealis Award winners.
WORD (1.4Mb) / PDF (224k)

The Aurealis Awards have a significant history behind them now. Since the Awards' first ceremony, both the field of literature and the vibrancy of the Australian speculative fiction community have grown substantially. This list of past winners and finalists is not only a great guide to a basic bookshelf selection of the best Australian works, it is also a useful survey of more than a decade's worth of signficant topics and themes, a who's who of the genre locally and the growth of the Australian publishing industry's commitment to the genre.

We make every effort to keep this list accurate and up to date, however if you do spot an error, please contact the Aurealis Awards Convenors.